Sister Patriot Turns One Year Old…

Sister Patriot is 1 Year Old...

June 28, 2012.  The Supreme Court of the United States voted to uphold the Constitutionality of Obamacare, calling it a “tax”.  Chief Justice John Roberts sold his soul to the devil and that decided the case.  This was the final straw for me.  I sat down at my computer and got to work.  I spent hours making my ideas and thoughts a reality.  Sister Patriot was born.  I wanted to do something for our ailing country.  I am the kind of person who despises injustice.  I generally speak up.  I’m the one whose family says, “Don’t tell her about it!  She’ll make a big stink!”  I can’t help it.  Not to say that I haven’t had my “doormat” moments in my lifetime.  I certainly have!!  But life molds and shapes us into the people we become.  I followed the McCain/Obama Presidential race very closely.  I defiantly drove around our very liberal town with a McCain~Palin bumper sticker on my car.  I was glued to the television on Election night.  I vividly remember holding my then 2 year old and sobbing when Obama won.  I remember watching the sea of smiling zombies staring at him while he gave his victory speech and wondering how these people could all be so delusional.  How could they have bought the bull?  I sobbed for my children and the future I knew this was going to bring to them.  To all of us.  And boy, did it ever.  We suffered greatly.  Being business owners in a failing economy is no picnic… Someday I might write about our experience, but I am not ready to yet.  Let me just say that it was very painful and a true test of Faith.  I believe it also brought Mister Patriot and I even closer to God when we saw Him bless us incredibly through very tough times.

Major injustices?  Definitely.  So what could I do? Obviously, people needed to start waking the heck up!  Posting political news stories on my Facebook page earned me an audience of crickets and a few “de-friends”.  I was appalled that even the FB friends I knew were Conservative, wouldn’t publicly acknowledge anything!  Whiskey Tango Foxtrot???  I started forming the idea for ‘Sister Patriot’ in my mind.  As I waited for my Kindergartener at school, while my baby napped…  I thought and read and read and read.

The day came one year ago.  When SCOTUS ruled on Obamacare.  I got to work.  I formed a Sister Patriot Facebook page and this blog. I have recently expanded to Twitter, my daily SISTER PATRIOT NEWS “newspaper” and of course, there is the little Sister Patriot shop, which is kind of an afterthought.

Have I done any good at all?  I sure hope so.  I put a lot of myself into this venture.  I share my thoughts and feelings about the current political climate.  I have met so many wonderful Patriots in this country!  I’ve even gotten the nod from a few well known Patriots, which has just been the icing on the cake.  I would have to say that one of the highlights for me was  after the Benghazi “whistleblower” hearings, with Eric Nordstrom, former regional security officer in Libya,  Greg Hicks, former deputy chief of mission in Libya and Mark Thompson, acting deputy assistant for operations in the State Department’s counterterrorism bureau.  Mr. Nordstrom’s wife posted a lovely message to me on my Sister Patriot FB page, thanking me for the kind words about her husband.  I was further shocked to find that she followed my page!  I was and continue to be incredibly honored to think that the support from myself and my readers meant something and brought some comfort to someone else.  It was very humbling.

To have a place to communicate with other like-minded Americans, to share news stories and thoughts, blogs and even jokes really has been such a wonderful experience.  I hope that I provide a place for others to vent their frustrations and maybe get some comfort or a laugh.  I hope my readers feel the solidarity of one another.  It’s a powerful feeling knowing we are all on the same team and wanting the same thing for our country.  I hope I highlight news stories that continue to inform and encourage people.  I try to promote other Conservative pages and charities, helping them to raise their voices and be heard as well.

After one year, my Facebook page has just under 2200 followers.  After a few months, there are just under 50o followers on Twitter.  I am small potatoes compared to so many other great pages and very talented Conservative  bloggers.  But I will keep speaking up for what is RIGHT.  I will keep learning and informing others to the best of my ability.  I won’t be silent.  My part may be small in the grand scheme of things, but always remember…  lots of small voices can make a BIG noise.  Together.  So let your light shine.   ~~Sister Patriot

“Neither do men light a candle, and put it under a bushel, but on a candlestick; and it giveth light unto all that are in the house.” ~Matthew 5:15

Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sister Patriot Turns One Year Old…

  1. Judy Luxton says:

    I CAN’T BELIEVE IT IS ONE YEAR ALREADY. CONGRATULATIONS SISTER PATRIOT FOR A JOB WELL DONE. MORE POWER TO YOU. MAY GOD CONTINUE TO BLESS YOUR WORK.

  2. Thank you very much! ❤

Leave a Reply

