Obamacare in 2014…

Here comes Obamacare...

Like so many of you, I have protested OVomitCare from the very beginning.  I dragged my feet, fought and clawed every step of the way.  I wrote about it on my FB page, signed petitions and did my best to make people aware.    I hung onto every word Senator Ted Cruz uttered during his 21 hour filibuster on the Senate Floor.  He even read a Sister Patriot tweet!  We all made a valiant effort, but 2014 is here and so is OScrewYouCare.  The Patriot family has been told that our individual private healthcare plan does not “conform to the Affordable Care Act’s guidelines”… so our plan ended on December 31, 2013.  We were rolled over into another plan, still through our health insurance company, but under the guise of “Covered California”.  This plan SUCKS and I’m not surprised.

As many of you know, I made two dreaded phone calls to our insurance company.  A total of two hours on hold and very little helpful information.  I was told by both people the amount of our new premium, yet in yesterday’s mail, our bill arrived and the monthly premium amount is almost $100 more than I was quoted.  I attribute this to the fees.  Fees?  Oh yes!  Not only do you get this unconstitutional healthcare garbage crammed down your throat and up every available orifice, you also get to pay for it.  Handsomely!  Our bill lists an “ACA Fee”, “MED Reinsurance Fee” and an “Exchange Fee”.  These fees seem to make up the difference in the premium I was quoted and the premium listed on our bill. 

But wait! There’s more!  Under the blanket of “Covered California” (and I can’t speak for other states, so maybe some of you can message me & let me know) pediatric dental insurance is mandatory.  Whether you want it or not.  I have a friend who is a dentist.  She and her husband are insured under the same company we are.  She told them that she was a dentist with her own private practice and didn’t need dental insurance for her children.  Too bad!  Mandatory.  Granted, it amounts only to an additional $24 per month for our family of four, but that’s not the point, is it?  As for how it works, I will let you know.  If the benefits are actually how they read, it might be the only plus I can see thus far.  However, I was trained in the dental field and I dealt with dental insurance for many years, so I know how it works.  I am skeptical.

For the amount of money we are shelling out every month, the coverage is dismal.  We have a $5000 deductible.  Prescriptions do not have a separate deductible.  It all goes together.  So, all prescriptions are out of pocket until we reach that $5000 cap.  Oh… and it’s $5000 for EACH family member.  For surgeries, hospital stays and even outpatient surgeries, the $5000 deductible has to be met first.  After that we still have to pay 30% of the negotiated fee.  How many people can do this?  Not many.  Add to this dismal news, the obvious next step of losing good physicians.  Medical practices are businesses.  Yes, a good doctor cares about his patients and does all he can to keep them healthy and save lives, but at the end of the day, he or she still have bills to pay.  There are staff salaries, medication, supplies, equipment, insurance, lease on the office space, etc….  With the push toward socialized medicine in this great country, doctors are going to be put out of business.  My OB-GYN is retiring early because of this whole mess.  He is an incredible physician and we are losing him because of Obamacare.  This will continue until only the very wealthy will be able to pay out of pocket for the very best care.  The rest of us will suffer, wait in lines, be put on waiting lists and many will die unnecessarily.  Look at countries with socialized medicine and compare.

Back to 2014 and the Patriot family situation, the last phone call I had with our insurance company left me wanting to take a shower.  The person I was speaking to suddenly said, “What do you gross per year?  Because you might qualify for a subsidy.”

“Excuse me?”

“Look, the government is willing to help people out and pay part of your premium if you qualify.  You really would be remiss not to at least check into it.  I mean, if they’re giving away free money, you’d be wrong not to take it.”

You can imagine my blood pressure at this point.  I said, “There is no such thing as “free money”.  The “free money” is actually coming from the middle class.  You and I are paying more in order to subsidize healthcare for other people.”

Well, he didn’t get it and I wasn’t going to get into a debate with him.  But, the conversation made my heart sink.  If that is the attitude, no wonder we are saddled with this mess.

Those liberal Americans who are so blind to facts.  Those who have bleeding hearts and want to help everyone, as long as it doesn’t affect them.  I know people who are raging liberals (I do live in California).  I avoid them like the plague, but I know them.  Well these folks think it is GREAT that OUpYoursCare is the law of the land.  When we found out we were losing our plan, they said, “Oh, you will see this is really a GOOD thing!  You will get much better insurance for much less than you’re paying now!!!!” And they flew away on a rainbow colored unicorn.

WELL, guess the heck what?  Now that 2014 is here, a few of these people have had a RUDE awakening.  “We were rolled into another insurance plan and our premium doubled!!!  This is B.S.!!!!” Hmmmmmm… you don’t say.  Not so great when it’s happening to you, is it??  Maybe there is a sliver of hope for some of them yet?  We can always hope.  The diehards will never get it, but just maybe there are still some thick headed sheeple left who will start to absorb the unconstitutionality of current events and join our side after all.

As for me, I will continue to fight, resist and speak up for what is RIGHT.  We must have a full repeal of Obamacare.   ~~ Sister Patriot

Additional note: Please check out the following event on Facebook. “I will not comply” https://www.facebook.com/events/369663019834284/
“ONLINE PROTEST: The Obama administration has made March 31st as their deadline to sign up millions of unsuspecting Americans for their disaster, Obamacare. Let’s send a message that we will not enroll…we will not comply!”

About sisterpatriot

Sister Patriot is a Christian Conservative wife & Mom who believes in speaking up for what is RIGHT. You can read her daily on Facebook & Twitter. You can also subscribe to The Sister Patriot blog on WordPress. She is guest blogger for Right-Winged Birds of Pray on Facebook and a Contributing Writer for The Trump Times. Sister Patriot is a permanent passenger on the Trump Train. #MAGA
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Obamacare in 2014…

  1. 5,000.00 copay…for EACH of you? I find myself wondering in just exactly what universe is this “affordable”. Then I kinda black out :~D . These people truly have no shame.

Leave a Reply

