Have yourself a dysfunctional family Christmas…

img_37081

Christmas is my favorite time of year. I feel like I’m a child again. Having my own children, I get to re-create excitement & wonder for them, which is like a 2nd childhood for me.   I just love it.

During Christmas one year when our youngest was about 2 1/2 years old, he piped up in the backseat one day & said, “I sure do love Christmas, Mommy.”  

Me too! I sure do love Christmas & I always have. However, even wonderful times have their challenges. Christmas brings family gatherings & when you have liberals in your family, it can be trying.

When they know you are Christians & staunch Conservatives, but they don’t like it at all. When they know you homeschool, yet greatly disapprove, it can make for a stressful occasion.  Catching our oldest little patriot being grilled with a pop quiz (to see if he knows “anything”)…. Me being grilled at the dinner table with many questions over our curriculum. “Well, how do you know what grade they are in? How do you teach this… How can you teach that if you aren’t qualified to teach?” Grrrrrrr…… I found it pretty ironic that after indignantly quizzing our son over what he is studying, the same person started discussing “global warming” with another liberal family member. HA! Indoctrination has come full circle. It runs deep. Job accomplished for the Left.  Mr. Patriot later told me not to worry about what other people say or think about our beliefs as it’s none of their business. I agree, however, say what you want to my face, but leave my children alone. Kids are off limits.

One of my good friends is married to a University Chemistry professor. He has repeatedly told her that his best students are always those who have been homeschooled. The statistics prove it. Common sense proves it… why wouldn’t kids who get one on one customized schooling from a loving parent excel? Yet the Left is so against it. Shock of the century… not all homeschoolers are Christian Conservatives! There are all kinds of homeschoolers out there with varying beliefs. The one common thread is that we all want the very best for our kids. (No offense to those who send their kids to traditional school. My own Mom would’ve loved to homeschool, but she couldn’t as she had to work full time.) Those of us who desire to homeschool & are able to, are extremely blessed.

Back to the liberal family members… I don’t give two hoots what they believe. I’m not out to change their opinions. Why must they strive to change mine? I don’t want to hear about your fairytale global warming. I don’t want to hear you repeat everything you heard Bill Maher or Oprah Winfrey or Michael Moore say. What I’d love to hear is an original opinion. One that you came up with all on your own. One that wasn’t programmed into your brain by some also indoctrinated moron. What I’d love is for you to just talk to me about the kids & how much they are growing, how happy & funny they are. I’d love to hear what you think about the way I’ve decorated our home or where you went on your latest vacation. I’d love to just have a converation about life without the political jabs, disapproving glares & clucking over how we live our lives. Why is it so important for you to “accept” Bruce Jenner in a dress, yet completely turn your nose up when I mention God in my conversation? As I always say, Liberals are the most tolerant group, as long as you believe everything they do. Family included.

It was still a wonderful Christmas & we are a blessed family. Wishing you all a very Happy New Year. ~~ Sister Patriot

*Picture from Steven Crowder.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

