Middle of the Night Musings…

635898217592583748-1364620141_nighttime

It’s 3 a.m. and here I sit again.  Insomnia.  I never used to have insomnia.  In fact, I love to sleep.  I love to nap, though napping is tricky when you’re a Mom.  The last couple of years have been my first experience with trouble sleeping at night.

It’s partly because I’m a night-owl.  I love it when the house is asleep and everything is still.  No chance of the phone ringing or people coming to the door.  Just silence.  I love just listening to the peaceful silence.

But with the silence comes my thoughts.  I start thinking.  About. Everything.  I have a list.  The things I worry about.  The things I am so grateful for.  I usually take this quiet time to pray.  I often think that God must cringe when I say my prayers because I do go on.  I know that’s ridiculous.  He is perfect and merciful.  He loves me and all my detail-oriented babble.  And so I pray.  I go through my list.   The things that I’m afraid of, the things that I pray won’t happen, the problems that are too big for me to handle on my own.  I pray for our President, Vice President and their families.  That God will keep them safe and give them wisdom.  That He will bring them ever closer to Him throughout their time in the White House.  I pray for the safety and health of my children and my husband.  I pray for my Mother and loved ones in our lives.  I pray about the pain I feel from those who have turned their backs on me over the years.  I pray for the things I don’t understand.  I pray about whatever is on my heart and I am always so grateful that I have my Heavenly Father to turn to whenever I need Him.  The older I get the more I realize how impossible this life would be to get through without Him.

I always remember to thank Him for my blessings.  My wonderful husband and our beautiful children.  He knows just what we need in our lives.  When painful things happen, he fills the void with peace and grace.  It’s really quite amazing and in these quiet nights, when it seems I am the only one awake in the world, I think of these things.

If you’re still with me, you might be asking, “Sister, why are you rambling about all of this stuff?”  Well, because that’s kind of who I am.  I feel things deeply.  I talk too much.  I overthink everything.  I cry at the drop of a hat and I laugh my butt off.  Those I love, I love fiercely.  I’m loyal and sometimes too truthful.  I’m just me.  The reason I’m telling you all of this (if you’re still reading) is simply because I want you to know you are not alone.  We all have fears, hurts and worries.  We all have things that we don’t want other people to know about.  Maybe it’s something from your past that you are ashamed of, or an illness or disability you hide from the world.  Everyone has something.  Everyone feels pain and sadness over a lifetime of experiences.  Everyone feels joy and gratitude.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that we’re all human.  Children of God.  We’re all sinners, saved by Grace through Jesus Christ.  Life isn’t always easy.  So when you are feeling lost in your thoughts, or up in the night worrying about problems you think are unsolvable… just remember that God is right there with you.  Talk to Him and share your heart.  He loves us so much. He knows us better than we know ourselves and He has a plan for each and every one of us.  Just reach out to Him.

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. 

~~Jeremiah 29:11

And with that I shall bid you a good-night.  ~~ Sister Patriot

 

You can read Sister Patriot daily on Facebook & Twitter.  She is guest blogger for Right-Winged Birds of Pray. You can watch her videos on the Sister Patriot YouTube channel. And for goodness sake, don’t forget to subscribe to this blog!

 

About sisterpatriot

Sister Patriot is a Christian Conservative wife & Mom who believes in speaking up for what is RIGHT. You can read her daily on Facebook & Twitter. You can also subscribe to The Sister Patriot blog on WordPress. She is guest blogger for Right-Winged Birds of Pray on Facebook and a Contributing Writer for The Trump Times. Sister Patriot is a permanent passenger on the Trump Train. #MAGA
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Middle of the Night Musings…

  1. Steven Hogan says:

    Very Well Put SP- Too Bad not everyone sees it this way – the world would be so much better off !!! The other day I met a person who said they could not believe in God and Jesus ,could not believe in “Faith” and wanted to ask my opinion about this as a Christian without arguing – I first told that individual who was riding in my car that everyone believes in “Faith” and he told me I was nuts – and I asked him well don’t U have faith in me, that I am a good enough driver that I am not going to smash my foot on the accelerator and plow us head on into the ditch,seriously injuring both of us or maybe killing one or both of Us ? His answer amazed me ??? His said No- I do not , If it happens, it happens , if it doesn’t, it doesn’t and that is as far as I think about it – so there is no “Faith ” involved…….. I asked him if He trusted anyone and he said No —– He just does, and whatever happens, happens ………. He has no expectations for anyone- that way he doesn’t ever get disappointed with anyone and has very little stress in his life …….. He just lives He told me ……. I asked him how fun was that then ??? He seemed confused – He asked me why I asked him that ?? I told him that to me ,never wondering why ,how , what, and for , I myself was on this earth and never caring what the reason was that certain things happened to me !!! Would be a very boring life and not a learning process ! Besides at the very least —- Let’s say I die,and find out there is No Jesus, No Father God ,No heaven, – That faith was elusive too me and something that was unreal —- as a Human Being alive on this “Hellish” earth it gave me “HOPE” it made me a better, nicer ,more loving person , it gave me stronger morals ,,,,,,,, I do not see how having Faith and believing in Jesus and God the Father hurt me any ………….. He said but all thru life U believed in a falsehood and went by man-made rules that were ridiculous !!!! I said are U not doing that any ways ??? Then the conversation kind of lapsed and went on to other subjects ………….. I had just never encountered a mindset like that before—- and this was not a fake one , and it is not from an unintelligent person ( at least not in most of his thinking) …….. and he did not ask me this to try and trick me to argue with me ……… But anyways I’ve always enjoyed what U had to say and How U say it —– Keep up the Good work …… and if Oprah thinks she is an option for 2020 —– U should really think about making Ur bid !!!!! Keep up the GOOD Fight !!!

    • Wow. Very interesting conversation, Steven. I would’ve told him that whether he knew it or not, he DID have faith in you driving the car. If he had no faith that you were going to get him to his stop safely, he would’ve been holding on for dear life. The same goes for daily life. If you have no faith that the day will go normally, you’d stay home under the covers and hide from everything. It’s very sad for those who just do not believe. All we can do is pray for them. Thank you for reading! ~~SP

  2. I can relate to the “rants”. Enjoyed the read!

Leave a Reply

