When God’s Rainbow is Hijacked

Facebook emojis

June has apparently been deemed “gay pride month”.  I recently noticed rainbow flag emojis appearing on Facebook and then I read an article telling how FB had added it to the emoji line-up for “gay pride”.  The article went on to say that if you wanted the emoji, you needed to go to the official LGBTQ FB page & “like” it.  After that, the rainbow flag would appear in your emoji line-up.  I wrote about this on my Sister Patriot FB page, talking about what FB was doing & how sad it is that God’s rainbow has been hijacked.  Needless to say, I did not have a “gay flag” emoji, nor did I want one, nor did I visit the LGBTQ page, etc…   So imagine my surprise yesterday when noticing I suddenly had one.  It prompted me to write the following on the SP Facebook page:

 

Dear FB:
Thank you for including God’s rainbow in my emoji line-up. Every time I see it, I remember God’s symbol, signifying his promise to us that a flood will never destroy the earth again. You see, the rainbow belongs to God. He created it and He uses it as a covenant between Himself & His children. It will never be anything else. I appreciate the daily reminder of God’s love. Can we have a for the emoji line-up next? ~~Sister Patriot

13 I have set my rainbow in the clouds, and it will be the sign of the covenant between me and the earth. 14 Whenever I bring clouds over the earth and the rainbow appears in the clouds, 15 I will remember my covenant between me and you and all living creatures of every kind. Never again will the waters become a flood to destroy all life. ~Genesis 9:13-15

~~~~

The post went nuts, being shared & commented on quite a bit.  I have received lots of support, but also negativity (not surprising).  Everything from people saying to “give it a rest” to “it’s time to accept diversity” to outright attacks on my belief in God.  This was my response post earlier today:

I guess homosexuality is a hot topic. Whenever I write anything or post a meme about it on my page, everyone comes out of the woodwork. Even some professing to be fellow Christians, admonish me for being “petty, hateful & judgmental”.

Let me say first of all that I do not hate anyone. I know some lovely gay people & have met others throughout my life. They’ve been kind & polite with me. Not every gay person is in the “gay mafia”. I do not condone slurs made against anyone. It’s ignorant, mean and certainly not something Jesus would do. I would help my fellow man no matter what his race, religion or sexual preference. Those things shouldn’t even enter into being a decent human being. We are all God’s children.

However…

The truth is the truth. God’s Word is the truth. We are supposed to speak boldly. It doesn’t mean that we’re hateful, but sounding the warning bell. If you saw a car speeding down a road & you knew the road ended abruptly at a canyon, would you feel compelled to warn the oblivious driver? Would God want you to? The driver might laugh at you & call you names for interfering in their driving, but isn’t it your duty to warn them? It is after all, their life you are trying to save. Isn’t it the same thing with people who mock the word of God?

I had a Christian person tell me that it’s time we all just accept “diversity” and not talk about it. We should focus on other things instead. So, back to that car careening toward the cliff, should you ignore what is imminent & focus on the paint color or the brand of tires on that car? Will it really matter after that car goes over the edge & the person has lost their life?

My post about the FB rainbow emoji has been deemed hateful, judgmental & petty by many. The way I see it, hijacking God’s creation (the rainbow) and using it as a symbol of “homosexual pride” (an abomination to God) is a slap in the face to Him! That’s not petty in my book.

Further, it illustrates the state of the world when this same mocking of God is absolutely everywhere. June is “gay pride month”. Companies are using it in their advertising, it’s all over the news & social media. When the world tells you to celebrate something that God tells us is an abomination to Him, I think you need to question it.

I take my page very seriously and I think carefully about what I post. I ask God to help me use this page to bring more people to Him. I many times doubt myself, thinking I am surely not good enough to try and tell others about Him. But we are supposed to tell the world. Pointing out the atrocities, upside-down thinking & sin in this world, shows that Jesus is coming back soon.

Satan is the Great Deceiver. The father of all lies. He is ramping it up because his time is short. The car is flying down that road & the cliff is gleaming in the sun, waiting. Will you warn the driver?? ~~ Sister Patriot

#IWillStandWithGodEveryTime #GodsRainbow

~~~~

I stand by what I wrote.  Love the sinner, hate the sin.  And that is what I think about that.  ~~Sister Patriot

You can read Sister Patriot daily on Facebook & Twitter.  She is Contributing Blogger for Right-Winged Birds of Pray.  You can watch her videos on the Sister Patriot YouTube channel & if you’re not yet subscribed to this blog, well why on earth not?  Sign up to get an email notification every time this blog updates. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to When God’s Rainbow is Hijacked

  1. Jamie Carter says:

    The way I see it, nothing happens without God’s permission because of his sovereignty. If he really didn’t want anybody to use the rainbow as a symbol, he could have used all that power of his to bring it down. But he didn’t. Isn’t it written in the Bible that efforts made by the hands of men will fail, but efforts with God’s backing cannot fail? Either way, I’m content to let God fight his own battles – as for me, I’ll do my best to invent some flying cars so that nobody falls and we can all live and let live.

    • Jamie Carter: God gives us free will to choose the path we wish to take in life. But He also wants us as Christians to spread the Good News. From there, it’s up to every individual to decide for themselves. I would direct you to the reply left by Chelene Nigtingale, as she lays it all out eloquently. ~~SP

  2. Jesus provided great teachings on “diversity” during His ministry. Although He loved the “sinner”, He did not accept their sinful lifestyles. His command was “give up your life(sytle) and follow me (God’s ways).” Times may have changed, however God’s instructions have remained the same. We as believers should most definitely love “sinners” but not accept their “sins”. Instead we are to tell them the Good News and confirm that their lifestyle is leading them to eternal death and Jesus wants them to stop the sin, change their path and follow Him for eternal life. Jesus accepted ALL to follow Him, but did NOT accept anyone to continue sinning. This is what we as believers should be doing as well.

    Furthermore God shall not be mocked. The Bible is very clear on what the “rainbow” stands for which is GOD’S PROMISE! Satan, the great deceiver and liar, is full of “pride”….the rainbow flag is a rebellion against God and all who celebrate it will be punished by the one and only God!

    Any believer who believes the unscientific deception “born that way” is rejecting God and Creationism. Genesis 2 is very clear that God created man and woman to be together: 7 then the Lord God formed the man of dust from the ground and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life, and the man became a living creature……….18 Then the Lord God said, “It is not good that the man should be alone; I will make him a helper fit for[e] him.”………21 So the Lord God caused a deep sleep to fall upon the man, and while he slept took one of his ribs and closed up its place with flesh. 22 And the rib that the Lord God had taken from the man he made[h] into a woman and brought her to the man. 23 Then the man said,

    “This at last is bone of my bones
    and flesh of my flesh;
    she shall be called Woman,
    because she was taken out of Man.”[i]

    24 Therefore a man shall leave his father and his mother and hold fast to his wife, and they shall become one flesh…

    God clearly did not create 3 couples – there was no creation of “Adam & Steve” or “Madam & Eve.” In fact later in the Old Testament, God declares homosexuality to be an abomination: Leviticus 18:22 -“… nor shall you profane the name of your God: I am the LORD. 22 ‘You shall not lie with a male as with a woman. It is an abomination…..” .God warned many times about unnatural sexual relations by destroying cities engaging in sexual sin like Sodom & Gomorrah. Thus to be a believer and go against God is denying the “cross” and accepting the “Father of lies'” instead.

    However, God loves all of us sinners and forgives all of us when we repent and give up our “life(styles)” and follow Him for eternal life! This is the GREAT NEWS and instead of Christians apologizing for God’s words, should instead be rejoicing and leading others to Christ!

Leave a Reply

